Personal, Text

The Rolling Stones @ Hyde Park

Last saturday. First (and probably also last) time I saw The Rolling Stones live. And it was literally the best concert I have ever seen and ever will see. No more words needed. I can tell about how I almost cried when their set started, or how fantastic the audience was. I can show the little video I recorded to make my mom and friends at home jealous. I could write a book about every song they played. But a million worths, images or videos are not enough to express how great this gig was.

Watched the entire concert from 5th-6th row or something like that, which was really awesome. I saw pictures afterwards and was pretty surprised about how many people were standing behind me. You couldn’t see a single spot of grass anymore, only people.

I will never ever forget this day. I’m completely sunburnt, I couldn’t eat all day because I didn’t want to lose my spot at the front, couldn’t go to the toilets and the only thing I drunk was free water they handed out to the public. I had to wait from 6.30AM until 8PM in the hot sun to see them. We are now two days later and my legs and shoulders still hurt and I’m way too tired to leave for my road trip next week. But everything was so worth it.

Also, want to thank my parents for buying me a ticket for my birthday. Best birthday present ever. And I also need to mention two other bands who were kicking ass that day: King Charles and The Vaccines. Didn’t know any songs of King Charles, so it was a nice surprise. And The Vaccines were great as expected.

And a big thank you to all the nice people I met, my dad for traveling to London with me (and buying me a Rolling Stones shirt!), and all the bands playing for giving me such a lovely experience. And thanks to The Rolling Stones for existing and being awesome!

And to end, this was the setlist of The Rolling Stones:

  1. Start Me Up
  2. It’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll (But I Like It)
  3. Tumbling Dice
  4. All Down the Line
  5. Beast of Burden
  6. Doom and Gloom
  7. Bitch
    (with Gary Clark, Jr.)
  8. Paint It Black
  9. Honky Tonk Women
    (followed by band introductions) 
  10. You Got the Silver
    (Keith Richards on lead vocals) 
  11. Before They Make Me Run
    (Keith Richards on lead vocals) 
  12. Miss You
  13. Midnight Rambler
    (with Mick Taylor) 
  14. Gimme Shelter
  15. Jumpin’ Jack Flash
  16. Sympathy for the Devil
  17. Brown Sugar
  18. Encore:
  19. You Can’t Always Get What You Want
    (with the Voice Chamber Choir) 
  20. (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction
    (with Mick Taylor)
Standard

Leave a Reply

